June 14, 2024

Panyaza Lesufi elected Gauteng premier unopposed and Limpopo scores first female premier

Gauteng Premier Panyaza Lesufi and Limpopo Premier Phophi Ramathuba were elected unopposed

The provincial ;egislatures convened their inaugural session of the 7th administration today, where premiers and ppeakers were elected. Additionally, the members of the legislature took their oaths and will serve as lawmakers in their respective provinces for the next five years.


A majority of the premiers were elected unopposed. In the Gauteng legislature, former Gauteng Education MEC Panyaza Lesufi was re-elected unopposed as the premier while the DA's Mike Moriarty was elected a speaker. Addressing the legislature, Lesufi said he wants the new Gauteng government to work for the people. "My sincere appreciation to all the political parties in this House, let's make a Government of Provincial Unity real. I am nothing without the ANC and our alliance partners," Lesufi said, adding that their mandate is simple: "Johannesburg CBD, Alexandra Township, Sethokga, hostel, Makause informal settlement, we are ready to make you beautiful again,". 


Limpopo MEC for Health Dr Phophi Constance Ramathuba became the newly elected Limpopo premier, taking over from Stanley Mathabatha, the province's ANC chairperson. Ramathuba becomes the first woman to lead the province as the premier since the dawn of democracy. In the Eastern Cape, ANC chairperson Oscar Mabuyane was re-elected earlier this morning during the provincial legislature. In Mpumalanga, former ANC chairperson Mandla Ndlovu was elected the premier, while ANC's Lazarus Mokgosi was elected unopposed as North West premier.

Zamani Saul was re-elected unopposed in the Northern Cape. In KZN, the sitting was delayed after there was an issue that was raised by the opposing parties, Umkhonto weSizwe Party and the Economic Freedom Fighters, who were complaining about the irregularities in the voting situation. Following lengthy debates between MK Party and EFF representatives who expressed discontent with the voting procedure, Thami Ntuli of the IFP was chosen as the new Premier of KZN. His election was supported by members of his party, as well as the DA, NFP, and the ANC. Meanwhile, ANC's Nontembeko Boyce was elected as the KZN Legislature Speaker. Western Cape, DA's Alan Winde was re-elected as the premier to lead the province for the next five years.

Thank you! You'll receive your Newsletter soon!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

By signing up, you agree to our Legal notice & to receive communications from Siyaya TV, which may include marketing promotions, advertisements and sponsored content.